Scholar Leaders Emma Donohue and Bennett Pellegrino; East Hampton Middle School
Scholar Leaders Emma Donohue and Bennett Pellegrino; East Hampton Middle School

June 2014 – Middle school students from Clinton, Cromwell, Deep River, Durham, East Hampton, Killingworth, Middlefield, Middletown, Moodus, Old Saybrook, Portland and Westbrook were recognized as the state’s top Scholar Leaders at the 2014 Connecticut Association of Schools (CAS) Scholar Leader Banquet sponsored by the Connecticut and Western Massachusetts McDonald’s Owner/Operator Association.   As part of its long standing commitment to supporting educational programs, McDonald’s owner/operators joined CAS to honor the following local students as the best of the best in the state at the banquet:


- Katherine Daley and Miles Waterbury, Jared Eliot Middle School, Clinton

- Jocelyn Stearns and Jack Shauck, Cromwell Middle School, Cromwell

- Jessica Paholski and Tyler McCormick, John Winthrop Middle School, Deep River

- Madeline Montz and Seamus Doyle, Strong Middle School, Durham

- Emma Donohue and Bennett Pellegrino, East Hampton Middle School, East Hampton

- Julie Kelly and Roham Hussain, Haddam-Killingworth Middle School, Killingworth

- Grace Monagan and David Roper, Memorial Middle School, Middlebury

- Jenna Rabah and Konstantin Ditc, Keigwin Middle School, Middletown

- Veronica Meyer and Alexander Kelsey, Woodrow Wilson Middle School, Middletown

- Sophie Gable and Derek Andersen, Nathan Hale Ray Middle School, Moodus

- Sophie Alden and Chris Thomson, Old Saybrook Middle School, Old Saybrook

- Bridget Reddington and Nicholas Faraci, Portland Middle School, Portland

- Tirzah Blomquist and Christine Banks, Westbrook Middle School, Westbrook


“McDonald’s is proud to partner with CAS to congratulate and honor Connecticut’s top middle school students. We are pleased to recognize these scholar-leaders for their outstanding achievements inside the classroom and within their local communities,” said Rachel Deane, a local McDonald’s owner/operator and president of the Connecticut and Western Massachusetts McDonald’s Owner/Operator Association.


The Connecticut Scholar Leader Awards is the largest program of its type in the state. The award is presented to one male and one female student in each middle school whose record of academic achievement and service have been truly exemplary, whose personal standards and accomplishments are a model for others and who possess high levels of integrity, self discipline, honesty and courage.


About McDonald's

The Connecticut and Western Massachusetts McDonald’s Owner/Operator Association is comprised of local McDonald’s restaurant owners who are community and industry leaders. They have a long-standing commitment to supporting educational initiatives and organizations in the communities they serve, including providing resources to promote balanced, active lifestyles to kids and nutritional information for families. For more information, follow us on Facebook or Twitter @McD_CTWMA.


McDonald's USA, LLC, serves a variety of menu options made with quality ingredients to more than 27 million customers every day. Nearly 90 percent of McDonald's 14,000 U.S. restaurants are independently owned and operated by businessmen and women. Customers can now log online for free at approximately 11,500 participating Wi-Fi enabled McDonald's U.S. restaurants. For more information, visit www.mcdonalds.com, or follow us on Twitter @McDonalds and Facebook www.facebook.com/mcdonalds.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »